2015 Alumni Award Winners

Hall of Fame

Robert Ballard Bailey 1908

Mr. Bailey was born in 1889 in Knott County. He practiced law in Arkansas and was elected to the State Senate and named Senate President Pro Tempore. He served three terms as lieutenant governor of Arkansas and 240 days as acting governor due to the governor’s frequent travels outside the state. He died in 1957.

Outstanding Alumna Award

Cheryl D. King ’70

Dr. King served as the thirty-second president of Kentucky Wesleyan. She began her career as a music teacher at Foust Junior High School in Owensboro and has been involved in education at all levels during her career. She was Commissioner of Kentucky Adult Education and Deputy Secretary for the Kentucky Cabinet for Workforce Development. She helped write the adult education legislation, The Adult Education Act of 2000. Dr. King was the Study Director of the National Commission on Adult Literacy. In addition to her service as president of her alma mater from 2008 – 2011, she was a long-time college trustee. She is presently the Senior Policy Advisor for The Council of Postsecondary Education in Kentucky.

Alumni Achievement Award

Miranda Christy ’01

Ms. Christy is Director and Counsel at UBS Investment Bank in Nashville, Tenn. She has experience in conservation easements and conservation finance and has been recognized by the Civil War Trust for her contributions in pro bono services to support battlefield preservation. She was named one of Nashville’s 2015 “40 Under 40” by the Nashville Business Journal and was recognized with the 2014 Nashville Emerging Leader Award in Environment & Sustainability and the 2014 Nashville Business Journal Women of Influence Award. She has been named a Rising Star by Mid-South Super Lawyers. Ms. Christy is co-chair of the Steering Committee of The Nature Conservancy’s Young Professionals Group in Tennessee and serves on the Board of Directors of Nashville Classical Charter Schools.

Michael Horn ’75

Mr. Horn established National Steel Erection, Inc., in 1978, which later led to Titan Contracting and Leasing Co. Titan is a leading specialty mechanical contractor serving the power, petrochemical, refining and general process industrial markets; building power plants, refineries, “scrubbers” for aged coal power plants, among many other heavy industrial projects. The company has offices through the country. He also owns and leads Titan Fabrication, Inco Services, Milco Constructors, and M Industrial Mechanical and Midwest Consulting, which aids customers in occupational safety and training. In 2007, he created the Michael E. Horn Family Foundation, which supports numerous causes and projects in Owensboro/Daviess County, including Kentucky Wesleyan College. He was the recipient of an honorary doctor of laws degrees from Wesleyan in 2012.

Alumni Service Award

Sally Allen Crenshaw ’67

Ms. Crenshaw was an employee of the Commonwealth of Kentucky her entire career; as a social worker, with the Department of Education in programs for the disadvantaged in vocational education and as a guidance counselor in postsecondary education for allied health careers. She has served her alma mater as a member of the Alumni Association Board of Directors for many terms and has served as secretary numerous times. She is well-known for her loyalty, commitment and service to the Alumni Board and her service is a model to many alumni.

Outstanding Young Graduate Award

Phillip Roberts ’05

Mr. Roberts recently became Vice President, Branch Operations, at Hilliard Lyons in Evansville.  He is the Past President of the Young Professionals Association of Louisville.  He served on the board of the Downtown Development Corporation in Louisville and Great Louisville Inc., which focuses on commerce and economic development. He was elected as one of the 2012 Forty Under 40 honorees by Business First of Louisville. In 2013, he was named to the city’s “50 People You Should Know.” He served on the boards of Carnegie House Educational Services and the Salvation Army Louisville.

Jason Tanner ’05

Mr. Tanner began designing websites while in high school and later founded Jason Tanner Designs, which developed identity/logos, print marketing, website design and photography for local and national clients. In 2011, he led the founding of the popular Owensboro Parent magazine, followed by Owensboro Living, a print and online source for Owensboro news, events and human interest stories, in 2013. He is now a partner in Tanner+West, an award-winning design agency.

Gus E. Paris Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Robert Flachskam, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry

Dr. Flachskam was a Professor of Chemistry for 40 years, retiring in 2015. He was recognized with the President’s Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership in 2002. He has served the Indiana-Kentucky Border Section of the American Chemical Society as Awards Chairman for 30 years and serves as a water tester and data base manager for the Tradewater Lower Green River Watershed Watch.

Nancy Flachskam, Honorary Assistant Professor Emerita of Chemistry

Professor Flachskam taught mathematics, statistics and chemistry part-time for 33 years and was a full-time member of the chemistry faculty for seven years. She also worked in the Library Learning Center. Upon her retirement in 2015, she was recognized with the President’s Award for Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership. She has served the Indiana-Kentucky Border Section of the American Chemical Society in several capacities and was the 2011 Outstanding Volunteer of the Tradewater Lower Green River Watershed Watch, where she serves as a water tester, trainer and event coordinator.

The Flachskams were recognized as the Most Spirited Faculty/Staff Members in 2001 for their support of student activities.